I am resolved….to have a good day!

We had a rough morning this morning. I went to bed too late last night and the delicious warmth of my comfy bed was so alluring (especially since we left the windows open last night and it was 57 degrees this morning!) that I allowed myself to sleep in a little bit. Which meant that my girls all slept in a little bit. (They all claim to not own a working alarm clock…looks like I know what will be on my Christmas shopping list!)

I roused the Handy Man when my glasses broke. The joint where the ear piece is screwed to the frame has been loose–our littlest one got hold of them one day–and this morning the screw popped out. We never did find the screw (although I am sure someone will step on it in days to come) but even if we had, I am fairly sure it would not have gone back into the warped frame.

Chores were not finished last night because we were so late coming in from church, so the kitchen was still a mess–dishes needed to be finished, school books were still scattered across the table (we ate at church last night, and we hadn’t cleared it for dinner as we usually do) and today was trash day so operation garbage collection was happening throughout the house. And, oh yes, I had to make more bread. Two of my girls had to leave at 10:30 for speech class, and our time was ticking away.

And to top it all off, the boys were not in happy moods. The littlest one was imitating a siren while the next one up was telling us he was “hungwy”. As the daughter in charge of breakfast stumbled out to the kitchen and started the oatmeal, I slipped off with my Bible to the bedroom. I decided that today of all days, I could not afford to not spend time with the Lord.

A funny thing happened as I sat there reading the Word. I was struck by the conviction that I could either allow the circumstances of my morning to affect my mood….and it was not good…..OR I could decide to have a good day in spite of the circumstances of my morning. I repented of my laziness in staying in bed much too long and I sang praises to my Redeemer. I came out of the bedroom a different Momma than I had gone in, and, broken glasses upon my nose, sat down with my daughters to begin our school day.

Our hymn this month is “I Am Resolved” As we sang the words of exhortation, I took them to heart. “I am resolved no longer to linger, Charmed by the world’s delight” (It may as well have read: I am resolved no longer to linger in my warm and comfy bed.) “Things that are higher, things that are nobler, These have allured my sight.” “I am resolved to follow the Savior, Leaving my sin and strife. He is the true one, he is the just one, He hath the words of life.”

The girls and I looked up the word “resolved” when we started this hymn. I think it is helpful sometimes to look up words whose meanings we all think we know…sometimes we are delightfully surprised. Resolved: to make a firm decision about. I am resolved to not allow my circumstances dictate my response. How’s that for a lofty goal?

This morning was rough. I could have allowed my day to be rough, too, but I decided to not let those things ruin my day. And you know what? It is turning out to be a pretty good day. I only hope I remember this the next time we get up late. Perhaps that should be my next resolution: get up on time always. Or maybe not. I really, really enjoy my warm, comfy bed on a deliciously cool morning!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

