time

One of the funny things about living with young children is observing them as they learn the language. It is sort of like watching an immigrant learn English, only much funnier. Lil’ Adventurer has definitely reached the stage where he knows that language is not just about voicing immediate needs but also about expressing thoughts and ideas that are abstract. Like most small children, though, his concept of time is a little skewed.

The other day he said to me, “Yesterday, when it is summer, I want to go swimming.”  The older girls and I sort of chuckled to ourselves while Little Princess, not possessing the gift of tact, told him that his comment “made no sense.”  It wasn’t so long ago that Little Princess was saying  the same sort of thing. She at least understands the past and the future now, although she sometimes has no idea of how much time has passed. She told me that she did something “years ago” when in reality it was about a month ago.

All this observation of children and the concept of time got me to thinking about how God must view time. He exists outside of time, and yet, he is intimately involved in our lives here in the confines of time. He has always been–and I have no idea what a physicist would say, but I kind of think of eternity as being outside of time–and yet it pleased Him to make man in his own image and to have fellowship with us. It boggles my mind that God is the same yesterday, today and forever.  And as J.I. Packer admonishes, us, we should not make God too small in order to fit our own ideas of what should be. Still, though, how can I comprehend that God has always known what my future would hold? He knows everything about me–my beginning, my past, my present, and my future–and in fact, he already exists where I have not yet been. It is a huge comfort to know that whatever my future holds, my Heavenly Father is already there.

It sort of boggles the mind, doesn’t it?  In a world of uncertainty, it is a comforting thing to realize that God is not confined by time as I am.

Speaking of uncertainty, we had a small scare this week. The Handy Man had to renew his unemployment claim, and he was initially turned down. The job market here has been very poor. He hasn’t found anything that even remotely looks promising. I am sure something will turn up, but I have to confess I had a moment of panic when he said that we weren’t going to get the unemployment anymore. It turned out to be a paperwork issue–lots of paperwork hoops must be jumped–and they did reinstate it for another twenty weeks.  We are praying and confident that the Lord will provide for us in due time. He is already there, after all, and He promises to meet all our needs according to his riches in glory by Christ Jesus. So we’re good.  We are exploring a few home-business type options. We’ll see where it all leads. God is good and we are leaning on Him.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

