I need a hero

I generally listen to uplifting Christian music…not because I think secular music is evil and all those who listen are going to hell less saintly, but because I know that my mind tends to dwell on the things to which I listen.  I find I function better when my mind dwells on “amazing love, how can it be, that you my King, should die for me” than when it dwells on “I like big butts and I cannot lie” or “let’s set the world on fire” or even “dust in the wind, all we are is dust in the wind”.  The other day the Handy Man and I were driving somewhere in his car. I should note here that he doesn’t keep his radio dial on Christian only stations, although he does have a few of them pre-programmed into his radio’s memory. We were listening to an oldies station when a Bonnie Tyler song came on. Now, I know Bonnie Tyler had a few good songs, but the one that always spoke to me as a teen was “I need a Hero”.

In case you are one of the generation who has never heard this particular song, the refrain goes like this (and you’ll just have to look on you tube for the actual tune):

I need a hero
I’m holding out for a hero ‘til the end of the night
He’s gotta be strong
And he’s gotta be fast
And he’s gotta be fresh from the fight
I need a hero
I’m holding out for a hero ‘til the morning light
He’s gotta be sure
And it’s gotta be soon
And he’s gotta be larger than life

 

Today, I found my hero.  He is four, and you know him as Lil’ Adventurer.  I am not sure which super hero he was…

Spider man is obvious. He is wearing his Spidy-suit.  Spider man is  cool only because he can shoot webs at things and can climb anything regardless of the laws of gravity.

Lil’ Adventurer was also wearing his Bob the Builder hat. This one is a little more obscure, but really, who doesn’t appreciate a man whose attitude to fixing things is, “Yes we can!”

The Lightning McQueen work gloves were harder to place. But I suppose you have to feel somewhat awed by a racecar that can go 200 mph and talk.

The light saber is obvious. The force is strong in this one.

And then there was the generic green cape. Because every super hero needs a cape. You just aren’t a super hero unless you have a cape, right?

So, to sum it up, the four-year old super hero in my house can climb any surface regardless of gravity, goes 200 mph while talking incessantly, thinks he can fix anything, works for good and not evil, and has a cape. Yep. Sounds about right.

One day I hope my little super hero will put his trust in our real Super hero–Jesus–the one who was strong enough to endure the cross on our behalf to suffer our punishment so we could stand before God with our debts completely paid.  I find the real heros are the ones who cannot see the path and yet trust God because they are secure in Jesus. In short, I hope my little guy is just like his Daddy.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

