Out with the Old and In with the NEW!

We end 2012 in a state of expectancy, a resignation of things beyond our control, an exhale waiting to happen.  I end 2012 gainfully employed outside the home–just two nights a week, though.  It has been 18 years since I last worked for someone else, other than my family, of course.  I asked my daughter Lindy, assistant manager of the pizza place, if she would ask her boss, the owner, if he could use me as a driver–just two nights a week, and just until the Handy Man gets something. I made the temporary nature of my request clear. They said yes.

I worked my first night only to come home and collapse with a full-blown case of the flu. The flu. The virus I had diligently tried to protect against by upping my vitamin D level (because studies show that if your vitamin D level is high enough, you won’t get the flu) and by taking a medicine cabinet full of homeopathics. I watched as my family fell one by one, and I rejoiced that I had not fallen. She who falls last, falls hardest. So it seems. I am now on the mend. It seems almost a fitting end for a dismal year.

I have no idea where this new year will lead us, how temporary my job will be, or whether we will be someplace else in a year. (Relocating has always been on the table, even more so now!) I have no idea where my sweet Dee will end up in college, and whether we will see her weekly, monthly or quarterly. The new year is a path with many turns in it, and we are standing at the gate waiting to go.

I don’t generally make new year’s resolutions. But I am this year. I am resolving to face my  trials with a better attitude. I am resolved to not whimper in defeat but glory in victory–where-ever and whenever it comes. I am resolved to love those around me more fiercely, with more abandon and with greater risk than I have in previous years. I am making it my purpose, in short, to live life freely and without fear.

Come along with me….let’s see where 2013 takes us!

Happy New Year!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

