Undone

Every time I think I “get” what the Lord is trying to teach me through all the trials of the last few years, I realize that He has yet more to teach, more for me yet to “get”.  He continues to undo me. He did again yesterday and then again today.

Yesterday, we went to church and had an amazing time of worship, which is not unusual.  What was unusual was that all the equipment our church normally uses is stored in a moving truck, and the truck had a busted alternator, and thus the lift gate would not lower, effectively trapping all the things we “need” for worship. Creekstone has an amazing team, though, and somehow they managed to pull it off using borrowed and improvised equipment. Things like a sound system, power point and projector, nursery equipment, microphones, instruments….it all fit perfectly with the teaching on the early church from Acts 2.  During worship we sang a song called Every Day.

VERSE 1
In Your grace, You know where I walk
You know when I fall, You know all my ways
In Your love, I know You allow
What I cannot grasp
To bring Your praise

CHORUS
Thank You for the trials
For the fire, for the pain
Thank You for the strength
Knowing You have ordained
Every day

VERSE 2
Your great power is shown when I’m weak
You help me to see Your love in this place
Perfect peace is filling my mind
And drawing my heart
To praise You again

BRIDGE
In my uncertainty, Your Word is all I need
To know You’re with me every day

I sang with abandon and freedom.

As some ladies and I were talking after church,  I shared the testimony of how the Lord has been providing for us, specifically with gas money. Then, as we were getting ready to leave, one of the ladies walked up to me, grabbed my hand, and pressed a $20 bill into it. “Gas for next week,” she said.

Today we went to pick up our car from the body shop–we had taken it in after last week’s flying hood incident.  I had no idea what the bill would be–I expected at least a few hundred dollars. Gary had hammered out the hood, welded the broken latch plate back into place and replaced the hinges. And he would not accept payment.  I hugged his wife, Pam, a friend from when we first started homeschooling, and I cried in thanksgiving all the way home.

God continues to bless us in ways we don’t expect. I am beginning to see that I expect too little from God. He loves me so much more than I understand–even to the provision of things we didn’t even think to ask about.

Yesterday, McKay exhorted us to expect supernatural things from the Lord just as the early church did.  I think I am seeing it happen in my life, sometimes just through the simple obedience and generosity of other believers. From auto body repair to tires to childcare to checks in the mail, God keeps providing in ways that we could not ask or think. We are blessed. And I am being undone.  And it is good.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

