THM update

I have been following the Trim Healthy Mama way of eating for almost nine months now.  I love the food freedom–just knowing that even if I mess up, I can begin again in three hours,  has been such a freeing thing for me. I have loved most of the recipes, and even more exciting, so has my family. There have been a few recipes that have been less than stellar, but that is to be expected.

I have tried to be transparent on my journey. It has been difficult for me to post things like my weight on the internet.  There are so many women like me–morbidly obese, despairing of ever dropping the weight, feeling the hopelessness and helplessness of not being able to participate in life: movie theaters, auditoriums, regular folding chairs, some vehicle seat belts, furniture in other people’s homes….none of these are safe if you are morbidly obese. I could not play with my kids, I could not even get down to tuck my little ones into the lower bunk of the bunk bed.  That is slowly changing. I no longer fear finding a place to sit. I can comfortably go to the theater again!  And I can tuck my little guy into bed on the lower bunk. I even dared to sit down on it last night. I want those women who are like me to know that, YES, it IS possible to lose the weight, and, YES, you can do it eating normal foods and without exercising. That is not to say that I don’t use some specialty items. I do because they make my life easier. But it is doable without them. I also do not discount the idea that I may have to, at some point, incorporate some kind of regular exercise. For now, though, I am happy to just keep on with the plan because it works.

I have had several plateaus.  It seems that at every 20 pound mark, my body will shrink a little more, but the pounds stay on, until suddenly, one day, several fall away.  I press on through the plateaus. This is not just about what the scale says. It is about how I feel, how my body is healing and changing, and how I can enjoy my food without being a slave to it.

My sister recently shared some pictures with me. I thought I would share some of the ones that show my progress.  Weight-wise, I have dropped from 363 pounds down to 294. This astounds me because it has been effortless. It has taken thought and awareness, and I have had to think about food in ways I never had before, but the actual implementation as been so very easy.   If you have health or weight challenges, I cannot recommend this book enough. Go here and order it!

December 2013….I am on the left (as if you could not tell that!) At my heaviest at 363 pounds, wearing a 4x-5x shirt and size 32 pants.

DSC_0655

 

April 20, 2014, wearing size 4x shirt and size 30 pants. On plan roughly a month.

IMG_0146 - Copy

 

May 5, 2014IMG_0282

 

May 27, 2014  Size 2 x shirt and size 28 pants

 

IMG_0718

 

October, 2014  Huge victory!  Wearing a shirt bought at KOHL’S, not from the the large woman’s wearhouse!  Size 24/26 shirt

 

DSC_0337

 

I love my siblings so much….they have really encouraged me along this journey!

 

 

DSC_0318

 

October 2014, wearing another Kohl’s shirt. Rare picture of the Handy Man and me together.

 

leetch-3584

 

Today. Size 22/24 shirt, size 26 pants (which are VERY loose–I am completely in the 24’s and they are getting loose, too, but I only own one pair and they are in the wash.)

 

IMG_1233

 

My weight as of yesterday.  Jaw dropping moment when I saw this. The camera added .4 pounds. (And I am in dire need of a pedicure!)IMG_1210

 

 

So far, 69 pounds lost. I am a little over 1/3 of the way to the goal I set, which was to get to 200 pounds. My doctor wanted me to go for that. Secretly, I do think I will get below that. It may take me a few years to reach that  goal, but that is okay.  This is about slow, steady progress, one good meal at a time, with a three hour do-over should I need it.

The excuses are gone. I choose what to eat and when. If I choose to eat something that will not help me lose weight, then that is okay. I just get back on the wagon at the next meal.  It feels so wonderful to not battle food anymore. It is no longer my punishment, nor is it my reward. Emotional healing was so very important for me in this matter, but now that the Lord has dealt with me in so many areas where I was broken and did not even know it, we are tackling the body.  Trim Healthy Mama has been a God-sent tool for me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to THM update

  1. Congratulations on your weight loss!:-)

    Like

  2. Jenny Leetch says:

    Yay!!! Way to go big sis! So proud of you!

    Like

  3. Amazing! So extremely proud of you! I know that the weight is just a symptom, so I’m most proud of you for seeking a happier self! Congratulations Andrea!

    Like

  4. Wanda Almazan says:

    Congratulations!! I am so happy for you!!

    Like

  5. Dea Irby says:

    finally saw this post, wow, congrats!

    Like

Leave a Reply

